Latest position on North Midlands devolution deal

Latest position on North Midlands devolution deal

The leaders of 13 Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire councils have confirmed their commitment to the creation of a North Midlands Combined Authority, with the ultimate aim of shifting resources and decision-making away from London and into the hands of local people.

At a meeting in Mansfield in March, the leaders agreed to work towards creating a Combined Authority as a first step with the goal of securing a devolution deal in the future.

It was agreed at the meeting that the next steps were to:

  1. Explore options with the Government about moving forward
  2. Discuss these options at the next meetings of the N2 Economic Prosperity Committee (18 March) and the D2 Strategic Leaders (date TBC)
  3. Report back to the next North Midlands Leaders’ meeting

Council positions

Out of the 19 local authorities, there are four that have indicated that they currently do not want to be a constituent or non-constituent member of a mayoral North Midlands Combined Authority:

  • High Peak
  • South Derbyshire
  • Amber Valley
  • Erewash

Chesterfield have said that they would like to be a non-constituent member of a North Midlands Combined Authority and join Sheffield City Region as a constituent member. Bassetlaw District Council is meeting to decide its position on 17 March.